1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Notice Board

Bhaavanaa for the Mind Full of Lust

When one’s mind is dominated by lust, one may find it difficult to control the mind. This mind craves and chases after sensual desire for satisfaction and gets trapped into any object of lust. It tends to think that this object is more attractive than the previous one and so on leading to confusion. There is a high degree of anticipation towards the association with objects of opposite sex. In such a mind, thoughts of lust and craving surface faster and suppress thoughts of loving kindness and metta. Thus, for individuals with a lustful mind there are two methods of bhaavanaa.

  1. Bhaavanaa on ten objects of impunity
  2. Bhaavanaa on body parts

Bhaavanaa on Objects of Impunity

In this method, various stages of the death body serves as Bhaavanaa objects. Samadhi (concentration) is achieved by focusing the mind on these objects. The details of this are to follow in a later segment of this brochure.

1. Hair of the head
5. Skin
9. Marrow
13. Diaphragm
17. Mestentary
21. Bile
25. Sweat
29. Saliva

2. Hair of the body
6. Flesh
10. kidneys
14. Spleen
18. Stomach
22. Phlegm
26. Lymph
30. Nasal mucus

3. Nails
7. Sinuses
11. Heart
15. Lungs
19. Excrement
23. Pus
27. Tears
31. Synovial fluid

4. Teeth
8. Bones
12. Liver
16. Intestines
20. Brain
24. Blood
28. Serum
32. Urine

For ease of bhaavanaa these 32 parts are grouped into 6 divisions.

First step of bhaavanaa:

Hair of the head, hair of the body, nails, teeth, skin
Skin, teeth, nails, hair of the body, hair of the head

Considering the impermanent nature of the body, the mind has to be focused on these both in ascending and descending order. During the process of Bhaavanaa one may realize impermanence and the slow, gradual decay and ugliness of the body. This needs to be followed in all 6 steps of the Bhaavanaa.

Second step:

Hair, sinus, bones, marrow, kidneys
Kidney, marrow, bones, sinuses, flesh

Third step:

Heart, liver, diaphragm, spleen, brain
Brain, spleen, diaphragm, liver, heart

Fourth step:

Intestine, mesentery, stomach, excrement, brain
Brain, excrement, stomach, mesentery, intestine

Fifth step:

Bile, phlegm, pus, blood, sweat, lymph
Lymph, sweat, blood, pus, phlegm, bile

Sixth step:

Tears, serum, saliva, nasal mucus, synovial fluid, urine
Urine, synovial fluid, nasal mucus, saliva, serum, tears

All 6 steps are carried out in the same manner.

Initially one may concentrate only on one body part. Gradually concentration can be extended to each and every part for all 32 parts. This is a a higher level of bhaavanaa in which one achieves samadhi through concentration of mind and realization about the relationship between importance and the body. If one has difficulties in concentrating on all 32 in sequence, continuous concentration on one by one part alone brings significant positive results.

If one’s mind is trained to this type of bhaavanaa, any type of mind, in particular lustful minds reap the benefits. During early adulthood, when one is learns towards lust, education may be in jeopardy. It may lead to the problem of finding an appropriate job and other related problems in life. When one cannot be satisfied sexually with one’s spouse only, one’s mind may be dominated by uncontrolled lust. This dominance does not allow one to recognize who or what one is. As a result fathers may forget their fatherhood or mothers may forget there motherhood. Many forget brotherhood or sisterhood. Concentrated mind disposed to lust, looks at the opposite sex with uncontrolled desires. When one is unable to satisfy such desires of lust, it begins to burn in one’s mind and becomes a perpetual pain.

By training the mind into bhaavanaa on body parts, early adulthood can be developed into a life that is full of faith, loving kindness, tolerance, equanimity and amity without obsessive desires for sex. Then, life becomes full of harmony and more comfortable. It may lessen the number of divorces and improve family harmony leading to happiness within families and the society at large.